Auto Culture

Hamilton Gifted 2018 Brazilian Grand Prix Victory


Already having clinched the 2018 Formula One world championship, Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton appeared resigned to allow Red Bull’s Max Verstappen to win the 2018 Brazilian Grand Prix as Verstappen enjoyed a comfortable lead midway through the race. But on Lap 44, Force India’s Esteban Ocon collided with Verstappen as he was attempting to un-lap himself and the resulting spinout by Verstappen allowed Hamilton to pass and ultimately claim the 2018 Brazilian Grand Prix win with a fuming Verstappen in second and Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen holding off Verstappen’s Red Bull teammate, Daniel Ricciardo for the third and final podium position.

Hamilton was the pole-sitter for the race alongside Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel, but Vettel was a non-factor in the race from the beginning, dropping to third behind Hamilton’s Mercedes teammate, Valtteri Bottas, and ultimately finished sixth. Verstappen, meanwhile, charged through the field from his starting position of sixth and promptly began applying pressure to Hamilton, who finally cracked on Lap 40 with Verstappen passing him easily. But a mere four laps later, Ocon hit Verstappen and Hamilton re-took the lead and never looked back. Ocon was subsequently assessed a 10-second penalty for the hit.

Hamilton’s victory – along with race results for Raikkonen, Bottas and Vettel – helped to clinch the 2018 Constructors’ Championship for Mercedes over Ferrari.

2018 Brazilian Grand Prix Top 10

1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes

2 Max Verstappen Red Bull

3 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari

4 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull

5 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes

6 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari

7 Charles Leclerc Sauber

8 Romain Grosjean Haas

9 Kevin Magnussen Haas

10 Sergio Pérez Force India

About Alex Bean

Recommended for you