Auto Culture

Formula One Sets Tentative 2020 Racing Calendar


Formula One has set the calendar for the 2020 racing season, tentatively consisting of eight races at six European locations – all without spectators.

The 2020 Formula 1 season will start in Spielberg, Austria on July 5, 2020, with the traditional Austrian Grand Prix at the Red Bull Ring. That will be followed the next week at the same location with another race which F1 is calling the Steiermark [or Styrian] Grand Prix.

After that will come the Hungarian Grand Prix, then a two week break, then back-to-back races at Silverstone [British Grand Prix and 70th Anniversary Grand Prix], then the Spanish Grand Prix, another two-week break and then the Belgian Grand Prix and Italian Grand Prix.

Both the Belgian Grand Prix and the Italian Grand Prix are being held on their originally scheduled dates as is the opening Austrian Grand Prix.

The remainder of the season has yet to be announced but it is expected that F1 will finish the season with races in Bahrain on December 6, 2020, and Abu Dhabi on December 13, 2020.

All other races are in limbo depending upon a variety of circumstances owing to the coronavirus pandemic and the rates of infection in race-location countries.

2020 Formula One Calendar [Tentative]

July 5 – Austrian Grand Prix (Red Bull Ring)

July 12 – Steiermark Grand Prix (Red Bull Ring)

July 19 – Hungarian Grand Prix (Hungaroring)

August 2 – British Grand Prix (Silverstone)

August 9 – 70th Anniversary Grand Prix (Silverstone)

August 16 – Spanish Grand Prix

August 28 – Belgian Grand Prix

September 6 – Italian Grand Prix

About Alex Bean

Recommended for you