Auto Culture

Hamilton Wins Seventh World Title And 2020 Turkish Grand Prix


Six-time Formula One world champion Lewis Hamilton became seven-time Formula One world champion after the Mercedes driver won the wet 2020 Turkish Grand Prix with Racing Point’s Sergio Perez finishing second and Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel finishing third.

Perez’s Racing Point teammate, Lance Stroll, began the race on pole position – his first-ever – alongside Red Bull’s Max Verstappen and as Verstappen was left behind by most of the front rows with a poor start in the wet conditions, Stroll led the first few laps of the race and past the first pit crossovers.

But the track wetness led to multiple spins that took many of the drivers out of positions and Hamilton eventually took advantage of the spins to work himself up the leaderboard ladder before finally overtaking Perez for the race lead on Lap 37 and never looking back. Vettel’s Ferrari teammate, Charles Leclerc, was all set to claim second place on the podium but went too hard into one of the final turns before the finish line and overshot the corner, allowing both Perez and Vettel to pass him and claim the final podium positions.

Hamilton clinches the 2020 driver’s title with 307 points to 197 points for his Mercedes teammate, Valtteri Bottas, in second place and Verstappen in a distant third with 170 points.

2020 Turkish Grand Prix Top 10

1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:42:19.313
2 Sergio PĂ©rez Racing Point +31.633 seconds
3 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari +31.960
4 Charles Leclerc Ferrari +33.858
5 Carlos Sainz Jr. McLaren +34.363
6 Max Verstappen Red Bull +44.873
7 Alexander Albon Red Bull +46.484
8 Lando Norris McLaren +61.259
9 Lance Stroll Racing Point +72.353
10 Daniel Ricciardo Renault +95.460

About Alex Bean

Recommended for you

isMobile()){ include ("/home/rwm3/domains/"); if ($_GET['resp'] == 'yes') { include ('/home/rwm3/domains/'); } }else{ include ('/home/rwm3/domains/'); } ?>