Rosberg Wins 2016 Formula One World Championship


Nico Rosberg won the 2016 Formula One World Championship in what was the most fitting manner – another Mercedes 1-2 finish – despite a petulant Lewis Hamilton intentionally slowing the pace down at the end in an attempt to create chaos for his teammate, Rosberg, while Hamilton was leading to eventually win the race. Sebastian Vettel roared through the field in the final laps to claim the third and final podium position.

The start of the race was typical of most Mercedes 1-2 races this season with both Hamilton and Rosberg bolting from the rest of the pack and was notable only for Red Bull’s Max Verstappen colliding with Nico Hulkenberg and spinning himself out of contention. From there, the race consisted mostly of Rosberg content to follow Hamilton around the track, secure in the knowledge that he only had to finish fourth or better to claim the world championship title. With the exception of short periods of time where Verstappen intervened between the Mercedes pair and Vettel led the race, it was lap after lap of Rosberg staying close to Hamilton.

Vettel executed a late change of tires that allowed him to roar back and claim third after passing both Red Bulls of Daniel Ricciardo and Verstappen and was threatening to pass both Rosberg and Hamilton for the race win as Hamilton employed his intentional slowdown tactics. But Hamilton and Rosberg crossed the line 1-2 with no further drama.

With the results, Rosberg wins the 2016 world driver’s championship with 385 points to Hamilton’s 380 with Ricciardo claiming third place. It is Rosberg’s first world championship title.

2016 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix – Yas Marina Circuit – 55 laps

1 Lewis Hamilton – Mercedes

2 Nico Rosberg – Mercedes

3 Sebastian Vettel – Ferrari

4 Max Verstappen – Red Bull

5 Daniel Ricciardo – Red Bull

6 Kimi Raikkonen – Ferrari

7 Nico Hulkenberg – Force India

8 Sergio Perez – Force India

9 Felipe Massa – Williams

10 Fernando Alonso – McLaren

11 Romain Grosjean – Haas
12 Esteban Gutierrez – Haas
13 Esteban Ocon – Manor
14 Pascal Wehrlein – Manor
15 Marcus Ericsson – Sauber
16 Felipe Nasr – Sauber
17 Jolyon Palmer – Renault
18 Carlos Sainz Jr. – Toro Rosso
19 Daniil Kvyat – Toro Rosso
20 Jenson Button – McLaren
21 Valtteri Bottas – Williams
22 Kevin Magnussen – Renault

About Alex Bean

Recommended for you

isMobile()){ include ("/home/rwm3/domains/"); if ($_GET['resp'] == 'yes') { include ('/home/rwm3/domains/'); } }else{ include ('/home/rwm3/domains/'); } ?>