Scott Dixon Claims Pole Position For 99th Indianapolis 500


The drivers took a break from crashing into walls and flipping into the air at the Indianapolis 500 practice and qualifying sessions long enough to actually set the field for this weekend’s big race and it was Scott Dixon who came away as the recipient of the pole position for the 99th running of the Indianapolis 500 on Sunday. Dixon averaged 226.76 miles per hour to claim the pole ahead of his first row mates, Will Power [226.35] and Simon Pagenaud [226.145].

Defending champion Ryan Hunter-Reay starts at the #16 position in Row Six in a field that includes two women – Simona de Silvestro and Pippa Mann – who start in the 19th and 28th slots, respectively.

2015 Indianapolis 500 Starting Field

1. Scott Dixon
2. Will Power
3. Simon Pagenaud

4. Tony Kanaan
5. Helio Castroneves
6. Justin Wilson

7. Sebastien Bourdais
8. Marco Andretti
9. Josef Newgarden

10. J.R. Hildebrand
11. Carlos Munoz
12. Ed Carpenter

13. Oriol Servia
14. Charlie Kimball
15. Juan Pablo Montoya

16. Ryan Hunter-Reay
17. Graham Rahal
18. Carlos Huertas

19. Simona de Silvestro
20. James Jakes
21. James Davison

22. Alex Tagliani
23. Sage Karam
24. James Hinchcliffe

25. Conor Daly
26. Townsend Bell
27. Takuma Sato

28. Pippa Mann
29. Gabby Chaves
30. Sebastian Saavedra

31. Jack Hawksworth
32. Stefano Coletti
33. Bryan Clauson

About Alex Bean

Recommended for you

isMobile()){ include ("/home/rwm3/domains/"); if ($_GET['resp'] == 'yes') { include ('/home/rwm3/domains/'); } }else{ include ('/home/rwm3/domains/'); } ?>