Auto Culture

Lewis Hamilton Wins 2018 Formula One World Title At Mexican Grand Prix


Red Bull’s Max Verstappen won the race but Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton won the 2018 Formula One world championship – his fifth world title overall. Hamilton finished off the podium in fourth place behind Verstappen, Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel and Kimi Raikkonen.

Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo started on the pole position with Verstappen alongside him in the first row but Hamilton surged past Ricciardo while Verstappen grabbed the lead on the first lap. Tire strategies dominated the race and Hamilton pitted early and first – on the 12th lap – allowing Verstappen to run away from the rest of field. After several pit stops, the race was for second between Vettel and Ricciardo as Hamilton cautiously faded to fourth where he was content to sit, knowing that would be enough to win him the 2018 F1 title. Ricciardo and Vettel seemed destined for a late race showdown for the second podium place until an engine failure on Lap 62 took Ricciardo out and gifted the podium spot to Vettel.

Only the top four cars of Verstappen, Vettel, Raikkonen and Hamilton finished the race on the lead lap.

2018 Mexican Grand Prix Top 10

1 Max Verstappen Red Bull

2 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari

3 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari

4 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes

5 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes

6 Nico Hülkenberg Renault

7 Charles Leclerc Sauber

8 Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren

9 Marcus Ericsson Sauber

10 Pierre Gasly Toro Rosso

About Alex Bean

Recommended for you