Auto Culture

Formula One Will Have Dutch Grand Prix In 2020


Formula One announced that they will have a Dutch Grand Prix at Circuit Zandvoort beginning next year, with – not surprisingly – longtime primary sponsor and Dutch beer giant, Heineken, as the title sponsor of the event.

The Circuit at Zandvoort hosted F1 races from 1952-1985 and the facility will be rebuilt with the track and the infrastucture being modified to meet FiA standards for hosting a Formula 1 World Championship event.

The Dutch Grand Prix was first held in 1952, when it was won by a Ferrari, driven by Alberto Ascari, who went on to win the world championship that year. The 1985 Dutch Grand Prix was won by Niki Lauda from McLaren – his last F1 victory of his career – on his way to a 10th place finish that season.

About Alex Bean

Recommended for you