Juan Pablo Montoya Wins 2015 Indianapolis 500 Crashfest


Every 15 years, Juan Pablo Montoya wins the Indianapolis 500 – so after winning it in 2000, it was time for Montoya to win again at the Brickyard. Montoya staved off a final challenge from Will Power and beat an underpowered Charlie Kimball and fading Scott Dixon to claim the crash-filled 2015 Indianapolis 500 that saw only 22 cars finish the race.

Although Montoya started in the 15th position, he had to climb all the way back from a 30th position hole after losing and having to replace a big chunk of his rear wing in the early laps when Simona de Silvestro clipped him from behind. But helping Montoya get back in the race was a series of crashes that took out a full third of the field. In fact, the race was not even a full lap old when Takuma Sato and Sage Karam were involved in some boisterous driving that sent Karam into the wall and out of the race on the first lap [see video below]. Subsequent crashes scattered throughout the remainder of the race took out the many other drivers and included a pit row crash that sent one crew member to the hospital.

2015 Indianapolis 500 Results

1] Juan Pablo Montoya

2] Will Power

3] Charlie Kimball

4] Scott Dixon

5] Graham Rahal

6] Marco Andretti

7] Helio Castroneves

8] J.R. Hildebrand

9] Josef Newgarden

10] Simon Pagenaud

11] Sebastien Bourdais

12] Ryan Briscoe

13] Takuma Sato

14] Townsend Bell

15] Ryan Hunter-Reay

16] Gabby Chaves

17] Alex Tagliani

18] James Jakes

19] Simona de Silvestro

20] Carlos Munoz

21] Justin Wilson

22] Pippa Mann

23] Sebastian Saavedra

24] Jack Hawksworth

25] Stefano Coletti

26] Tony Kanaan

27] James Davison

28] Tristan Vautier

29] Oriol Servia

30] Ed Carpenter

31] Bryan Clauson

32] Sage Karam

33] Connor Daly

About Alex Bean

Recommended for you

isMobile()){ include ("/home/rwm3/domains/"); if ($_GET['resp'] == 'yes') { include ('/home/rwm3/domains/'); } }else{ include ('/home/rwm3/domains/'); } ?>