Auto Culture

Mercedes EQ Completes Turnover Of Formula E Team To McLaren


Formula E’s reigning world champion team, Mercedes EQ, has finalized the sale of their team to McLaren Racing, who will compete in the Formula E World Championship beginning in the 2023 Formula E season.

Mercedes EQ had previously announced that the 2022 season was to be their final season in the Formula E series – a single-seater, city-based electric car championship which will be entering its ninth season in 2023.

Mercedes EQ team principal, Ian James, will continue in the role for McLaren, but no word was mentioned on the fate of current Mercedes EQ drivers, Stoffel Vandoorne and Nyck de Vries, each of whom have two Formula E victories over the last three years.

Formula E’s ninth season in 2023 is expected to feature new ‘gen 3’ net carbon zero cars, with top speeds of up to 200 miles per hour.

About Alex Bean

Recommended for you

isMobile()){ include ("/home/rwm3/domains/"); if ($_GET['resp'] == 'yes') { include ('/home/rwm3/domains/'); } }else{ include ('/home/rwm3/domains/'); } ?>